My hair evolution

Since middle school, I used to looove coloring my hair. From box dyes to letting my dad do my own hair, to going to my regular neighborhood salon, I did the most just to have those reds in my hair. About 3 years ago, I decided I wanted to go silver. Platinum silver, not grey, but silver almost to the point of white. I wanted it and I was committed to doing whatever it took to go white.

Circa 2015:

IMG_5181.JPG

One of my friends that happened to be going to school for hair coloring was open to using me as her practice, and I was happy to have a discounted color so with no hesitation, we went to work. She spent I want to say 2 or 3 sessions with me and this is what she came up with

IMG_6074.JPG

She “ombred” it and toned it to grey but because she was still in practice, I absolutely hated it. She and I had some miscommunications, she would ignore my texts, tell me she’d plan to fix it but never did and I was left with this mess. Safe to say we’re no longer friends.

IMG_6455.JPG

So after getting fucked over, I went to my friend and asked where she got her hair done. She referred me to my current hair lady now and I absolutely love her!! Her name is Gen and I’ve been going to her ever since! She did some color correcting the first round and got me to a nice transitional balayage

IMG_6739.JPG

And every session after that was to lighten and tone my hair so that it wasn’t super brassy. Since silver took an absolute platinum blonde to get to, that’s the journey I took and a blonde mal was born.

DSCF0666.JPG

Once it finally got to a solid blonde, she went in with a foilayage to light the hairs closer to my roots so that they caught up with the rest of my hair and this, my friends, was the blondest Mal I’ve ever known. And I LOVED it.

IMG_7896.JPG

I kept with this for I want to say a full year of getting touched up and toned every few months and yes it was a lot of upkeep but I was obsessed with blonde!! I used lots and lots of purple shampoo as well as using a moisturizing conditioner + olaplex to keep it at bay. My hair was definitely damaged, it created knots and tangles/dreads like no other but it was worth it to me. Until I started getting lazy, stopped wanting to spend as much money on my hair, filling my roots, etc so I did something different. I went blue (Sept 2016)

DSC05514.jpg

For me, it was more of a transitional color because I wanted to slowly integrate to the darker side but before I committed to black, I wanted a fun fashion color at least once in my life. It was a nice blue for a couple months, then faded to a teal, then before it started getting to a murky green color, I went back to black.

DSC05024.JPG

And have been ever since. Since going black, my blonde is starting to peak through so the ends of my hair are no longer black but more of a brown color, which I ain’t mad at, but I’ve loved the low maintenance it requires and feels good to be back to my natural color for the first time in years!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. ATypicalLife says:

    The blonde looked nice but the colour you have now is stunning! Great post, it’d mean a lot if you checked my recent post too x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mal says:

      Thank you! I will check it out 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment